Posted by: spickering | July 5, 2007

A New Approach To Addiction & It’s Release

It’s 2:15am, and I really should be sleeping, especially since I have an early appointment tomorrow, but I just had an insight, like Paul McCaurtney thinking of a song in the middle of the night. It’s about addiction, which I feel has been my main problem for some time now. But you know this whole time I have been regretting my past, condemning it, and condemning those substances that I have felt addicted to. But it just hit me tonight, they maybe a new, truer approach is in order.

I don’t regret my past. I love my past. I don’t hate you tobacco. I love you tobacco. You have given me more clarity, peace, and insight, than I have ever gotten from any other thing. You have been a constant, loyal companion, during times of distress, loneliness, and happy times. I love you. I will always love you, little green can, but now it’s just simply time to say goodbye, but it’s not a sad goodbye, its a joyful goodbye, because we both know its time. You’ve done your job in bringing me to this place, a place I couldn’t have gotten here without you, and now its simply time for me to take this next step on my own, and fulfill the promises that you gave me such clear glimpses of. You are not sad either. You know your work here is through. You’ve primed and initiated another promising candidate who will fulfill the visions and dreams that you have set forth.

And the same could be said for Alcohol. Alcohol, you have given me some of the funnest most hilarious, and sometimes some of the most Romantic moments of my life. You have given me pleasure, and a glimpse of what its like to open the heart and soul to the brain, and how when those channels are open, the unlimited energies and potentialities of the Universe can come pouring through. I don’t regret you either. I love you and I always will. It’s just simply time to say goodbye. That’s all. You know it, and I know it. It’s a joyous parting. We both know that we are fulfulling each other’s destinies in our own way. You’re like the Firebird. You brought me to the shore. Without you I couldn’t have gotten here, and you know that without our parting, the next stage cannot be fulfilled. So you are as happy as I am, about the past, the present and the future. I will never forget you or our memories together. They were happy. They were worth it. You did your job, and now its simply time for my ship to sail onward.

And coffee!!!!!!!!!!! What can I say? The “Amber Brew” as Graham Sr. once described it. Oh, how I have, and do love thee!!! No one has given me such peaceful pleasure mixed with radiant positive energy. You have shown me how a man can be, and that his potential is unlimited. You have shown me a glimpse of that. More than anybody you have shown me the gorgeous symphony that is created when the Cerebral Cortex, the Limbic System, and the Brain Stem all act in perfect harmony with one another. That’s what life was meant to be, and you have shown to me a living example of it, and I love you for it. You’ve shown me (all of us) what it’s like to feel, to be, in a state of unlimited potential, and the connection to mystery and awe that comes with it. And now its simply time for me to sail away. It’s time for us to be parted. You know it as much as I do, and are not only happy for me, but cheering me on, saying, “Be a fulfillment, a living fulfillment, of what our pictures, our works of art have shown you.”
I loved, and still love three women: Coffee, Alcohol, and Tobacco. But it’s simply time to say goodbye, a joyful goodbye, not a hateful goodbye. I don’t regret them one minute. I won’t forget their memories, or the memories they gave me one minute. It’s a bit like Odysseus, how he had to have his encounter and relationships with Circe, Calypso, and Nausicaa, before he could fulfill his true Hero status, and become re-united with his true wife and love, this time in a perfect connection, Penelope. He had something to learn from each of these women of his “unconscious” before he could be initiated into a true connection with true love and fulfillment. So, in a way, Tobacco, Alcohol, and Coffee, have been my “Night-Sea” journey, and they have led me and boats back to the shore.

See how different an approach like this is from condemning your past and or the substances? I’ve been at war with them, hating them, when not only is that not true, but its the opposite approach of passing through them, learning their lessons, (and they are real, valuable insights and lessons), and really moving on. Not only will you move on, but you will have their blessing and support. That’s their job in life. You know the D.H. Lawrence poem “Song of a Man Who Has Come Through”? That’s their job in life, to initiate the candidate, and to finally be able to sing “The Song of the Man Who Has Come Through.” They want you to move on. It was their job to get to you before the Machine, The Establishment and it’s “Invasion of the Body Snatcher” ways got to you. You may have been an addict, but at least you kept your soul. Now with your soul still intact, its time to move on, to fulfill the job of being the vessel through which the inexhaustible energies of the Universe can pour. That seems to me at least, to be a pretty powerful, meaningful purpose to do with the consciousness that you (we all) have been given.

I feel this is a radically different approach. But it feels truer. I feel at more peace with it, than condemn, condemn, hate, hate. Ranting and crying never got anyone anywhere. Odysseus had to deal with the hand he was given, and come up with a clever plan. Remember, Circe, the woman who turned his men into pigs, after she was delt with in the right way, turned them back into men, but this time, younger, stronger, and more beautiful men. Deal with Circe the right way. She’s here for a reason.

-Stephen Pickering © 2007

P.S. I realize the words aren’t going to change anyone’s opinion or actions even if they are read. I learned something a long time ago, except for an exceptional few of us, who were born teachers, we write in order to learn, not in order to teach.

Leave a Reply

Categories

